#1 Sheridan

Sheridan

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts

Posted 08 May 2003 - 02:35 PM

Hi there,
First post here. I'm currently the Learning Resources Manager of a school in Camden (secondary), which basically means Library and ICt stuff. I've been doing it for 3 years. I start a PGCE history at the IOE in September, and i'm really looking forward to it. But, i've a couple of queries, easily answered, i suspect, by you lot. :teacher:

one: Out of a mamoth reading list, what books do you all REALLY recommend?
two: I'm a little worried about how i'll react to a different school. I can control a room full of 70+ students on a rainy lunchtime, and it's a difficult school too, but i don't know if this past experience will be an advantage or not. Will the same behaviour techniques work in a class? Should i "unlearn" stuff?
three: I've observed loads of lessons. And been offered lots of lesson plans by friendly teachers. Should I read through them? I already know the curriculum pretty well (the joys of common tasks at homework club). I'm not sure, basically, how much stuff and advice to accept before i start. I don't want to fill my head with lesson plans that might not be "me".
four: I did my history degree 8 years ago. I'm 31 now. I'm a little panicked that i might not have enough historical knowledge fresh in my head, though i've always read a lot of history.

Probably over-reacting, but i'm nervous and excited at the same time.

Also, i noticed from previous postings: does no-one else teach "Spread of Islam" in Yr 8? It's a big thing at my school.

Anyway, any pre-PGCE advice appreciated. Especially on how to make the money stretch....

sheridan :)
"Sandals are the skeletons of shoes"

#2 Elle

Elle

Long-term Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 730 posts

Posted 08 May 2003 - 02:58 PM