23 replies to this topic

#1 ignoramous

ignoramous

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 145 posts

Posted 24 May 2003 - 06:54 PM

I am fairly new to the magical world of ICT. I am coming to the end of my PGCE year at Canterbury Christ Church and have foolishly agreed to develop a powerpoint presentation which will demonstrate to next years intake of History PGCE students, how to use powerpoint. Weird, I know.

I would argue that the majority of these new students will be much more advanced than I am with Powerpoint. I can use it reasonably well but are there any elements that you would recommend for inclusion within such a presentation.

I mean, what can Powerpoint do? You may know of uses that I have not yet thought of.

Any ideas, however simple, basic, etc you feel them to be would be greatfully received.

Thanks for your help

Ian :hehe:

'May the hair on your toes never grow less'.

#2 Win Bradley

Win Bradley

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts

Posted 24 May 2003 - 07:02 PM

I have a powerpoint presentation I gave to the staff in my school recently. It is totally reliant on the work of other people on this site - Nichol Boughey, Roy Hugg ins and Stephen Drew. I have it on CD and there is an accompanying paper. if it is of interest I can try to e-mail it (if you have broadband) - if not send the address and I will send a CD

Win

#3 Carole Faithorn

Carole Faithorn

Carole

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,279 posts

Posted 24 May 2003 - 07:47 PM

You might find the Case Studies about using Powerpoint on Andrew's site helpful.

#4 ignoramous

ignoramous

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 145 posts

Posted 25 May 2003 - 09:59 AM

Thanks for the advice,

The case studies have proven to be most useful. I now know how to capture the screen in powerpoint and turn it into a slide via word.

I know, I'm a bit slow. ;)

What successes have you had with powerpoint? Any you wish to share?

IAn

#5 Nichola Boughey