• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Andrew W

Andrew W

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts

Posted 16 August 2011 - 01:59 AM

I've been considering a career change into teaching for some time now but I have never had the confidence to make the move before and obstacles, probably of my own making, have always stood in the way. I have also been unsure of a career as a History teacher in a comprehensive school because I fear that the subject is undervalued by the public and misunderstood by politicians (however, I am pleased that they included History in Jamie's Dream School!). Sometimes I think that the subject must be better promoted, then I come here and see so many talented people and realise the enormity of such a task!

However, my circumstances have now changed. I am now a resident of Australia and this makes a huge difference (I'm in Oz but would still choose this site over any other for advice). The standards vary state to state, but in New South Wales History is mandatory until 16 and whilst they do lump History teachers into the HSIE category, they teach the subject separately in schools. They do tend to expect all teachers to have a second subject, but this is no issue for me as I am spoilt for choice deciding whether I enjoy Economics or English Literature more! The disparity in pay between teachers and my current field (finance) is also much closer, at least after a few years of experience and, whilst I don't like to think I am motivated by money lifestyle does have a habit of being quite entrenched.