• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Heather Scott

Heather Scott

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 June 2004 - 09:27 PM

I’d like to kick this seminar off by saying at the outset – I firmly believe that teaching should be about kids and experiences, and not about figures, spreadsheet, graphs and calculators!

However, over time I’ve come to appreciate that as a classroom teacher I can actually USE the reams of paper that come my way to improve what I do for the kids in my classroom.

Within our department at Challenge College, we have built a detailed “picture” of a student’s progress over Key Stage 3. On the record, we include the student’s CATs, SATs at KS2, gender, reading age, tutor group – and here’s the time-consuming bit – as Head of Department I set targets each year for each child in Key Stage 3. (see ROAs doc). That might sound a bit grim … but actually it’s quite stimulating, in that I am fully aware of every child’s potential and how well we are progressing towards that potential.

I use a ready-reckoner compiled from the DfES standards site which predicts what children should achieve at KS3 given their points at KS2. In History, however, we are whistling in the wind a bit here, because we never find out what the child’s History KS2 scores were. Sometimes we never even find out the KS2 English, Maths and Science! I use the joint scores of the KS2 and then predict at least two-thirds of a level’s improvement in each of the three years. This is typed into the child’s ROA and I make sure that class teachers have a copy of the ROAs for their class groups at the beginning and end of each year.

If class teachers take over someone else’s class or a child moves between sets, the ROA follows the child to the new teacher – it’s an at-a-glance view of that child’s progress so far.