History Aptitude Test

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Satirical

Satirical
  • Student
  • 142 posts

Posted 30 October 2004 - 04:09 PM

I'm taking the History Aptitude Test for Oxford on Wednesday (sparing a moment here to say *gulp* ) and I'm pretty much trying to see if there's any useful advice here. This board has helped me a lot in the past - thanks! (special thanks to Mrs F) and although this is quite offtopic in the sense that it's not based on a special historical unit, I decided to give it a try. The H.A.T is based on imagination rather than historical knowledge and it's so that Oxford selects which applicants go further to send in the essays.

Here is the link to the H.A.T site:

http://www.history.o...ntroduction.htm

Oxford says there's no preparation you can do beforehand (I am reading a bunch of books which hopefully will be of use) but I was wondering if anyone has advice on how to embark on such a test. I've never done this before, or anything remotely similar. I have looked at the specimen paper but I was thinking of general advice.

Thank you.

The only advice I've gotten so far is "You'll be fine, I told you the same thing before and I was right." which is not really advice...but LOL. <_< :lol:

For the record I'm on my friend's computer...it's crashing and moving from one page to another by itself so this was posted in the wrong forum...if somebody could move it to the 16+ board I'd be very grateful! ;-)

Edited by Satirical, 30 October 2004 - 04:17 PM.

#2 Mrs Faithorn

Mrs Faithorn
  • Moderating Teacher
  • 2,803 posts

Posted 30 October 2004 - 07:01 PM

Firstly ..... as you'll see I have moved your post to the 16+ Forum.

Secondly .....regarding HAT.

If your contributions on this Forum are anything to go by, I'd agree with your teacher and say,"You'll be fine." But, as you say, this is hardly advice.