• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 carty23

carty23
  • Student
  • 8 posts

Posted 13 October 2010 - 10:46 PM

Hi there,

I was wondering if I could have some help with the essay structure for the above unit. I'm currently an A2 student studying Russia and its Rulers 1855-1964 as well as the coursework module on Vietnam. However, I am resitting the Germany paper from the AS year.

I did rubbish in June on the paper (came out with an E) but our teacher never really went through the structure of our essay answers.

You get 1 hour 30 minutes for the paper, you answer 2 questions, and the total marks are 100.

This is a past paper question from the June 2009 exam:

Study the five Sources on the Building of the Berlin Wall in 1961 and then answer both the subquestions.

It is recommended that you spend two-thirds of your time in answering part (B).

4 (a) Study Sources A and C.

Compare these Sources as evidence for the aims of the Western powers towards the German Democratic Republic. [30]

(B) Study all the Sources.

Use your own knowledge to assess how far the Sources support the interpretation that in building the Berlin Wall the German Democratic Republic was mainly concerned to prevent the fleeing of East Germans to the West. [70]
[Total 100 marks]

All together you get 5 sources.

Alls that we were told is to answer question A using CACTUS - Content, Authenticity/Authorship, C (I cannot remember at this time), Typicality/Tone, Usefulness & then Summary.

For question B, we were told to answer using GREAKS - Grouping, Reliability, Evaluate, Analyse, Own Knowledge, & Summary.

----------------------

However, looking back through my notes I haven't got any explanations, and although they may seem self-explanitory, it seems mind-boggling to me! Another thing is that my teacher told me examiners do not like answers that are formulaic, yet she still gave us a set structure to answer the question?

Many thanks in advance,

Chris.

#2 MrJohnDClare