• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Cyfer

Cyfer
  • Student
  • 322 posts

Posted 07 September 2011 - 08:46 PM

Hello,

Soon (~13 weeks) I will be doing a controlled assessment on Russia (1905-1941).

The controlled assessment consists of 8 hours of writing on a single question.

Before the controlled assessment the teacher is allowed to give us 4 weeks of lessons (learning about Russia) and 6 weeks of essays/advice on structure.

We are allowed to create a file for the first 10 weeks of preparation which can contain any of our previous essays/preparations/textbook photocopies/quotes etc

During the controlled assessment we will be given a source booklet, (our teacher advises against us using other sources)

I was just wondering if anyone could offer any advice. I am a reasonably fast writer on the computer (2 pages in ~35mins) however I have great difficulty maintaining this speed unless I specifically have knowledge of what to write prior to the writing, for example when writing an essay from scratch I take about 50 minutes to an hour per page, even with preparation having done before (setting out the key ideas for the essay).

Our teacher said that previously people have photocopied pages from textbooks and put them into their file to bring into their exam. I was wondering if anyone here could offer any advice (which is allowed, as long as I am in the preparation period) as to what I could do. As I see it, since it is one long question I can only pray that it is about the lead up to the rise of Bolshevism or one of the revolutions because I am reading 'A People's Tragedy' which I believe would basically provide me with anything I could possibly need in such a case.