Photo

How Did The Second World War Change The Attitudes Of Women?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 MiruSiva

MiruSiva
  • Student
  • 4 posts

Posted 10 June 2012 - 06:43 PM

Please can someone help me to answer this exam question. I am a WJEC exam board student. I have my exam in two days. And I really need help

Thank You

#2 Mr Field

Mr Field

Administrator

• Moderating Teacher & Admin
  • 1,390 posts

Posted 10 June 2012 - 07:26 PM

I created the following interactive diagram for my students quite a few years ago - http://www.schoolhistory.co.uk/lessons/impactofwar/wwiiwomen.html

I think it will prove a useful revision aid for you in terms of any exam question about the 'role and status of women due to WWII'. Do have a look and then get back to us with any further questions.

#3 Mr. D. Bryant

Mr. D. Bryant
  • Moderating Teacher & Admin
  • 1,036 posts
  • Interests:History teacher, with special interest in military history.

Posted 10 June 2012 - 10:53 PM

W.J.E.C. don't publish mark schemes online, so it is difficult to be too specific.

If your question is about content, i.e. stuff to put in your answer, then Mr. Field's diagram should help.

I have put an appeal on the Teachers' Forum to see if there are any teachers who teach this exam.

However, you will need to concentrate on explanation. So, first you need to identify several differences in women's attitudes e.g. to working in industry etc., their role as wives and mothers, then explain how the war changed them.